Jet2 evacuates Brits on holiday in Spain giving them just four days to fly home

Holidaymakers have had return flights axed and empty planes are being sent to bring them home early despite the Foreign Office saying Brits on holiday don’t need to “cut short” their visit after issuing travel ban

The tour operator has cut short holidays for thousands of Brits telling them they have just four days to fly home.

Furious holidaymakers who were enjoying a sunshine break were sent emails and texts notifying them that their return flight was not operating any longer.

They were told to rebook flights up to and including August 3 with many furious customers now complaining they’re facing sky-high costs to return home.

A Jet2 spokesperson said: “We appreciate that some of our package holiday customers were due to stay on holiday for longer than this and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.”

Are you a Jet2 customer? Have you been asked to return home early? Email us at [email protected]

The shock moves comes just days after it suspended flights to the Balearics and Canaries until August 10, and to mainland Spain until August 17 following the Foreign Office advising against all non-essential travel to the country.

However, the FCO specifically told Brits on holiday in Spain not to “cut short” their visit.

The UK’s biggest tour operator TUI has also cancelled flights but has not made arrangements to fly home customers already in Spain.

One fuming holidaymaker tweeted: “I’m currently in Menorca, Spain. Jet 2 have abandoned us, want more money, cost increasing every minute to bring us home.

However, it is unclear what the travel firm plans to do about reimbursing them for their holidays being cut short.

“Cancelled by text and suggested we rebook for an earlier flight that was more expensive and also happened to be full… not sure how we (4 adults and 6 kids) get home next week!”

One customer tweeted: “Currently in Lanzarote supposed to be for 11 nights , got a text yesterday saying flights been cancelled and put us on a flight for Sunday coming which we will lose 4 nights of our holiday , JET2 saying we will not be refunded for last 4 Nights?”

He continued: “Also told us that our hotel has been cancelled for they remaining nights so you are keeping our money and told not eligible for a refund.”

One holidaymaker said their family of five “had been left to make their own arrangements” after their return flight from Palma was axed.

An email she shared states: “We’re sorry that your flight to the UK is no longer going ahead.

“We’ll refund the cost of your affected flight. This will be credited to the card you paid with in the next 28 days

“Please note that you’ll automatically be sent documentation that may seem irrelevant to the transaction above. 

“This is part of a process we can’t change at the moment while we’re focusing on dealing with the high volume of affected bookings.

“If you’d like to book an alternative flight, we have flights available until 3 August 2020.”

Brits returning to the UK from mainland Spain, the Canary Islands or Balearics have to self-isolate for 14 days.

The Foreign Office advice states: “If you are returning from Spain you will be required to self-isolate on your return to the UK, but the FCO is not advising you to cut short your visit.

“You should contact your tour operator or airline if you have any questions about your return journey.”

A Jet2 spokeswoman told Mirror.co.uk: “We are operating empty outbound flights to pick up customers from these destinations up to and including 3rd August, and we are contacting customers who are currently in these destinations to advise them of their options regarding flying back to the UK.

“We appreciate that some of our package holiday customers were due to stay on holiday for longer than this and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

“It is important to note that we are responding to a very fast-moving situation with updates coming from the government with little or notice, and we have had to make decisions about our programme accordingly.

“We can assure these customers that we will be in touch with them to resolve any issues that they may have.”

Source: https://news.google.com/__i/rss/rd/articles/CBMiUWh0dHBzOi8vd3d3Lm1pcnJvci5jby51ay90cmF2ZWwvbmV3cy9icmVha2luZy1qZXQyLWNhbmNlbHMtc3BhaW4taG9saWRheS0yMjQ0NDQzNNIBVWh0dHBzOi8vd3d3Lm1pcnJvci5jby51ay90cmF2ZWwvbmV3cy9icmVha2luZy1qZXQyLWNhbmNlbHMtc3BhaW4taG9saWRheS0yMjQ0NDQzNC5hbXA?oc=5

News – Jet2 evacuates Brits on holiday in Spain giving them just four days to fly home

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *