Edmonton Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl wins MVP awards – en – en.

Edmonton Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl, the NHL’s only 100-point scorer in the coronavirus shortened regular season, won the Hart Trophy on Monday as the most valuable player in the league

He also won the Ted Lindsay Award as MVP elected by members of the NHL Players Association

Draisaitl recorded his second consecutive 100-point season, scoring 43 goals and a career-high 67 assists and 110 points in 71 games to edge teammate Connor McDavid in the goal scramble. He scored 10 game-winning goals

He became the first player of German descent to win the Hart Trophy, beating Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado Avalanche) and Artemi Panarin (New York Rangers) in the vote

“It’s a great honor,” he told NBCSN “Our hockey is improving a lot and producing more and more players. Hope this will somehow give little kids more joy while playing hockey and starting hockey instead of other sports “

Draisaitl helped his cause by scoring 12 points in six games that McDavid, the 2016-17 Hart Trophy winner, missed in February with injury

Norris Trophy (defenseman): Roman Josi, Nashville Predators He set a franchise record with 65 points by a defenseman and had a 12-game streak with one point

Vezina Trophy (goalie): Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets He finished second in the league with 31 wins while registering a 922 save percentage

First All-Star Team: C Draisaitl, LW Panarin, RW David Pastrnak (Boston Bruins), D Josi, D John Carlson (Washington Capitals), G Hellebuyck

Second All-Star Team: C MacKinnon, LW Brad Marchand (Bruins), RW Nikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay Lightning), D Victor Hedman (Lightning), D Alex Pietrangelo (St Louis Blues), G Tuukka Rask (Bruins)

Team All-Rookie: Fs Dominik Kubalik (Chicago Blackhawks), Victor Olofsson (Buffalo Sabers), Nick Suzuki (Montreal Canadiens), D Makar, D Quinn Hughes (Vancouver Canucks), G Elvis Merzlikins (Blue Columbus Jackets)

Earlier in the playoffs, the NHL announced other winners: the Jack Adams Award (Bruins coach Bruce Cassidy), Selke Trophy (defensive forward, Sean Couturier of the Philadelphia Flyers); Lady Byng Trophy (gentleman’s game, MacKinnon), Masterton Trophy (perseverance, Bobby Ryan of the Ottawa Senators), GM of the year (Lou Lamoriello of the New York Islanders), King Clancy Trophy (humanitarian, Matt Dumba of the Wilds) of Minnesota), Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award (Mark Giordano of the Calgary Flames) and Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award (Dampy Brar of Apna Hockey)

NHL Awards 2020, NHL Awards

World News – CA – Edmonton Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl wins MVP awards – en – en.

Source: https://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nhl/2020/09/21/nhl-awards-oilers-leon-draisaitl-wins-hart-trophy-league-mvp/5857399002/