The fourth edition of the Laver Cup will start on Friday, September 24. Named after Australian tennis legend Rod Laver, the tennis mega extravaganza will take place at TD Garden in Boston from September 24-26. The annual men’s tennis competition, where teams representing Europe and the rest of the world compete against each other, has drawn packed houses at all previous editions in Geneva, Prague and Chicago.

In this year’s edition, Team World will be led by American legend John McEnroe, while the European team will be led by Swedish great Bjorn Borg. Team Europe are so far undefeated at the event and will be aiming for another title, while Team World, led by McEnroe, hope to beat their rivals this time around. The tournament hosted by Swiss tennis ace management company Roger Federer, TEAM8, was canceled last year due to the pandemic.

On paper, the European team hold the advantage as they have at least six of the world’s top 10 players, including US Open champion Daniil Medvedev and Tokyo Olympics gold medalist Alexander Zverev, between others. Notably, Team Europe would compete in the absence of the big three – Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. However, Federer will cheer on his European teammates from the sidelines. The Swiss legend continues to recover from the knee injury that kept him off the circuit for most of the season.

Meanwhile, Team World may not have the top 10 players, but Americans Reilly Opelka and John Isner alongside Australian Nick Kyrgios will be part of the six-member squad.

The premier tennis event will take place in a Ryder Cup-style format that pits players from both teams against each other in singles and doubles matches that will be played to the best of three sets. The tournament will also have a publicity score, meaning that if the match ends in a single set, the third and final set will be a first 10 tiebreaker.

Team Europe: Bjorn Borg (C), Thomas Enqvist (VC), Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Alexander Zverev, Andrey Rublev, Matteo Berrettini and Casper Ruud.

Team World: John McEnroe (C), Patrick McEnroe (VC), Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Diego Schwartzman, John Isner, Nick Kyrgios and Reilly Opelka.

Day 1 – Friday September 24: Afternoon session – two singles matches (starts at 10:00 p.m. IST).

Evening / Night Session: A singles session followed by a doubles match (starts at 4:00 am IST, September 25).

Day 2 – Saturday, September 25: Afternoon session – two singles matches (starts at 10 p.m. IST).

Evening / Night Session: A singles session followed by a doubles match (starts at 4:00 am IST, September 26).

Day 3 – Sunday September 26: Afternoon session – one doubles match followed by three singles matches (starts at 10:00 p.m. IST)

Note 1: If only one match is needed on the last day (Day 3) to decide the outcome of the Laver Cup 2021, a doubles exhibition will be played. Additionally, if the teams’ scores are not separated after 12 games, a decider will be played.

Fans can enjoy the Laver Cup 2021 live stream on Sony Sports Network’s Sony Six HD channels, Sony Six HD in India. The tennis extravaganza can also be streamed live on Sony’s digital platform SonyLIV.

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.