Today at

3 PM

ET

/.

Noon

PT

on
TSN1, TSN4 and CTV

Sun

1PM

ET

/.

10 AM

PT

on
TSN3 and TSN4

Sun

19:30 o’clock

ET

/.

4:30 p.m.

PT

on
TSN1

May 7, 2021

David de Gea
Eric Verhoeven / Soccrates / Getty Images

Jose Mourinho has never been shy about bringing his former players onto his new teams, and the trend seems to be continuing.

The Sun’s Dylan Terry reports that the new coach wants to bring Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea to Rome.

Mourinho spent two and a half seasons at Old Trafford from 2016 to 2018, where the 30-year-old Spain international was his first choice.

De Gea is currently in a battle for United’s No. 1 jersey with England international Dean Henderson. De Gea played well in Thursday’s 3-2 loss to Roma in the semi-finals of the Europa League, which the Red Devils won 8-5 overall.

De Gea joined United from Atletico in 2011 and has a contract with Seasons 2023-24, which pays the Madrid-born £ 375,000 a week. That makes him one of the highest earning goalkeepers in the world.

The players Mourinho has bought more than once include midfielders Nemanja Matic (Chelsea and United) and Michael Essien (Chelsea and Real Madrid) and defender Ricardo Carvalho ( Chelsea and Real Madrid).

Ref: https://www.tsn.ca