David Ortiz should be elected on his first ballot, while it is the tenth and final ballot for Roger Clemens, Curt Schilling, Barry Bonds and Sammy Sosa.

NEW YORK – David Ortiz, Alex Rodriguez, Ryan Howard and Tim Lincecum are among 13 first-time candidates for the Baseball Writers’ Association of America Hall of Fame vote, joining 17 holdovers.

Those of Steroid-infested stars Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens make their tenth and final appearance on the BBWAA vote alongside Curt Schilling, who got 16 votes below the required 75% in the vote last year. Schilling appeared on 71.1% of the ballots, bonds 61.8% and Clemens 61.6%.

Justin Morneau, Jimmy Rollins and Jake Peavy are alongside Carl Crawford, Prince Fielder, Joe Nathan, Jonathan Papelbon, A.J. Pierzynski and Mark Teixeira, Hall and BBWAA said on Monday.

The holdovers include Bobby Abreu, Mark Buehrle, Todd Helton, Tim Hudson, Torii Hunter, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Gary Sheffield, Sammy Sosa, Omar Vizquel and Billy Wagner.

Sosa will also vote for the last time, having received 17% last year.

BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years of membership are eligible to vote. Ballot papers must be postmarked by December 31st and results will be announced on January 25th.

All elected players will be admitted to the Cooperstown Hall on July 24th, along with all those from the Golden Days committees Era and Early Baseball Era, due to meet on December 5th.

No was chosen by the BBWAA in last year’s vote, and Schilling moved after the vote that the hall remove him from the election.

“It’s okay, the game doesn’t owe me anything,” he said during a live video stream on his Twitter account.

Clemens has denied using performance enhancing drugs and Bonds has denied knowingly using them. Bonds was also accused of domestic violence and Clemens of having a decades-long relationship with a singer who was 15 years old when they met.

Rodriguez has been banned from the 2014 season for violating MLB’s drug policy and collective bargaining agreement , and Ortiz’s name is said to have appeared on a list of players who tested positive during the 2003 survey tests.

Success. Please wait for the page to reload. If the page does not reload within 5 seconds, please refresh the page.

Hello {SUB NAME}, to comment on stories you must create a comment profile. This profile is available in addition to your subscription and website login. Do you already have one Registration.

Create a comment profile by providing an email address, a password and a display name. You will receive an email to complete the registration. Please note that the display name will appear on the screen when you participate.

Only subscribers are allowed to post comments. Please subscribe or log in to join the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you’ve sent your account email, we’ll send you an email with a reset code.

var mediaContent = “media \: content, content”;

(Function() {
var now = new date ();
var cookieName = new RegExp (‘MSPAN_Paywall_views_’ now.getMonth ());
Window.MSPAN = {
Paywall: {
totalViews: function () {
var Cookies = document.cookie.split (‘;’);
varwert = 0;
if (! cookieName.test (document.cookie)) {
Return 0;
for (var i = 0; i <cookies.length; i) {
if (cookieName.test (cookies [i])) {
val = parseInt (cookies [i] .split ('=') [1]);
Return value;
} ());

“use strictly”;
if (/logout/.test (window.location.search)) {
var date = new date ();
var cookieString = “MSPAN_Paywall_user = 0; domain =.” document.location.host.replace (/ ^ w ./, ”) “; path = /; expires =” date.toGMTString ();
var cookieString2 = “MSPAN_Paywall_user = 0; domain =” document.location.host “; path = /; expires =” date.toGMTString ();
date.setHours (date.getHours () – 1);
document.cookie = CookieString;
document.cookie = CookieString2;
} ());

Ref: https://www.pressherald.com