Salum Ageze Kashafali set the fastest 100-meter time in Paralympic history here in Tokyo before considering his life as a refugee.

The Norwegian sprinter roared with joy as he finished 10, Crossed the finish line in 43 seconds to claim the men’s T12 title.

It was the culmination of an incredible journey for Kashafali, who fled the Democratic Republic of the Congo with his family as a child to seek refuge in Norway .

“I’ve been through so much, from bullets to starvation, and being one of the best here means a lot to me.

Kashafali’s time surpassed 10.46 seconds in London 2012 by T13 star Jason Smyth from Ireland.

The 27-year-old was just 0.01 below the world record of 10.42 for a para-athlete that Petrucio Ferreira Dos Santos from Brazil set at the 2019 World Championships .

Noah Malone from the USA came second, Roman Tarasov from Russian en Paralympic Committee Third.

Smyth may have lost his Paralympic record to Kashafali, but the Irish sprinter made it the men’s 100m T13 champion for the fourth time in a row.

The The 34-year-old has dominated this race since Beijing 2008, but almost lost his crown here.

Skander Djamil Athmani from Algeria got excruciatingly close to Smyth on the line and narrowly missed.

Smyth won in 10.53 – one Thousands of a second ahead of Athmani, while Colombian Jean Carlos Mina Aponza finished third.

There was also a mustache that separated Daniel Romanchuk of the US and Thailand’s Athiwat Paeng-Nuea in the men’s 400m T54 final. </ Paeng-Nuea looked like he was going to be crowned champion as he neared the finish line before Romanchuk chased him, beating him to gold with 45.72.

Tomoki Sato took the 1500m with victory T52 of the men another gold for Japan after a record Paralympic time.

The Japanese Wheelchair user got himself on Friday (27. August) won the men’s 400m T52 title and picked up where it left off to get back to the top of the podium.

Raymond Martin of the United States led most of the race before Sato overtook him and had enough in the tank to be the first to cross the finish line in 3min 29.13sec.

The Chinese Zhou Xia won the 200 m T35 crown for women from behind and broke her own world record in the process.

Zhou flew down the track, overtaking Isis Holt of Australia before crossing the finish line in 27.17 minutes – a second below her record.

It was Zhou’s fourth Paralympic title and second in Tokyo, while Maria Lyle from Great Britain took bronze.

The Swiss Manuela Schaer managed to master the challenge of the American Tatyana McFadden and win the 800 m T54 gold of the women.

The Australian Madison de Rozario won the women’s 800m T53 crown in a record Paralympic time v on 1: 45.99.

Gerard Descarrega Puigdevall delivered his best performance of the season and won his Paralympic title in the men’s 400m T11.

The Spaniard crossed the finish line in 50.42 minutes ahead of Namibia’s Ananias Shikongo and France’s Guathier Makunda, who won silver and bronze respectively.

Pongsakorn Paeyo from Thailand stormed the men’s 400 m T53 title in a world record time of 46.61 meters.

The Canadian Brent Lakatos, who previously set the record held, took silver, while Vitalii Gritsenko of the Russian Paralympic Committee (RPC) took bronze.

Zou Lijuan took the third Paralympic gold of her career with a world record and won the women’s javelin throw F34.

Roderick Townsend from the USA crowned winning the men’s high jump title T47 by breaking the world record.

The American high jumper jumped 2.15 m, surpassing his previous record by just one centimeter.

The Indian Nishad Kumar and Dallas Wise from d en USA shared the silver medal after they had both jumped 2.06 m.

Wen Xiayan from China won her second gold in the women’s T37 long jump.

The Chinese, who won on Friday (27. August) won the women’s 200 m T37 title, defended her long jump crown with a victorious jump of 5.13 m.

Jaleen Roberts from the USA took silver, while Anna Sapozhnikova from RPC took bronze with 4.56 sacked.

Poleth Isamar Mendes Sanchez from Ecuador broke the world record and took the F20 crown in the women’s shot put.

Anastasiia Mysnyk from Ukraine had to settle for 14.16 with silver, while Anais Mendez left Ecuador finished third with 14.06.

Previously, Hannah Cockroft had broken her own world record in the T34 100m women with 16.39 and won gold and led a British double victory for Kare Adenegan.

World record holder Oksana Zubkovska from Ukraine won the women’s T12 long jump with 5.54m.

Shi Yiting from China set her own world record in the women’s T36 200m and crossed the finish line in 28.21.

The New Zealander Danielle Aitchison took silver and bronze went to the Argentinean Yanina An drea Martinez.

In the men’s F53 shot put, Elvin Astanov from Azerbaijan set a new Paralympic record with a best time of 8.77 m.

The Iranian Alireza Mokhtari Hemami won silver and Ales Kisy from the Czech Republic won bronze. The final of the men’s F40 shot put was incredibly dramatic as Iraq’s reigning Paralympic Champion Garrah Tnaiash went from silver to gold in the sixth round with a world record of 11.15 meters.

Denis RPC’s Gnezdilov had yet to throw, however, and retained his lead with a world record of 11.16 m – with just an inch in it when he took the gold medal.

It was a Chinese one-two in the women’s F64 discus throw – won by the charismatic Yao Juan, who broke her own world record with a personal best of 44.73 m.

Geoff Berkeley is a senior reporter at After joining the Midlands-based newspaper publisher Bullivant Media in 2011, Geoff rose through the ranks to become editor of the Malvern Observer and sports editor of several other weekly titles. He was then named the Worcester Warriors Correspondent for the Worcester News, where he was nominated Sports Journalist of the Year at the Midlands Media Awards in 2016 and 2017. He also worked for Sportsbeat in 2020.

Denver was awarded the 1976 Winter Olympics ahead of Sion in Switzerland, Tempere in Finland and Vancouver in Canada at the 1970 International Olympic Committee meeting. But in a November 1972 referendum in Colorado, voters refused to fund the event. It is the only time that a city has won the Olympics but has withdrawn. The IOC then offered the games to Whistler in Canada, but they also declined due to a change of government after the elections. Salt Lake City offered to host the Games, but the IOC, still suffering from Denver’s rejection, declined and chose Innsbruck, the host city of 1964, as its replacement.

The LTA’s vision is “Tennis Opened Up” and the mission for anyone working to make the vision a reality is to make tennis relevant, accessible, inviting and fun. The Corporate Affairs team is responsible for protecting the LTA’s reputation and promoting its work to open up tennis in the UK. The media manager will have a proven track record of landing coverage across a wide range of media (sports, news, consumer, health, social) and will take a leadership role in presenting stories to new audiences, as the Head of Media instructs. As part of the press office team, you will play a key role in answering the LTA’s daily media inquiries.

Mike Powell set the men’s long jump world record of 8.95 meters after defeating his compatriot Carl Lewis in a memorable duel at the 1991 World Athletics Championships. Thirty years later, Mike Rowbottom looks back on an extraordinary night in Tokyo and setting a record that still exists today.