The 42 teams were drawn in 11 groups with 15 available places at the AFC U23 Asian Cup 2022, whereby Uzbekistan had already confirmed its place as host (representative photo) – K. Pichumani

India was in the on Friday Group E placed next to the hosts UAE, Oman and Kyrgyzstan for the U-23 Asian Cup Uzbekistan 2022 qualification, which will take place from October 23 to 31.

The 42 teams were placed in 11 groups with 15 available places at the AFC U23 Asian Cup 2022. Uzbekistan has already confirmed its place as host, the tournament will be held in the Central Zone for the first time.

The draw divided the teams into two regions – the West Region with 23 participating teams from the West, South and Central and the Region East with 19 participating teams from East and ASEAN.

While India is in Group E, Jordan will host Group F, which also has Palestine and Turkmenistan as a company.

500 days to go: Qatar is preparing for a million fans at the 2022 FIFA World Cup

Group A consists of Syria, hosts Qatar, Yemen and Sri Lanka, while the Islamic Republic of Iran, Tajikistan, Lebanon and Nepal will compete in Group B, according to the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). p> Iraq, the champions of 2013, headlines Group C, which is hosted by Bahrain, while Afghanistan and the Maldives also compete.

Saudi Arabia, runner-up in 2013 and 2020, plays host to group D against Bangladesh Kuwait and Uzbekistan, who take part in friendly matches and whose results are not included in the rating. The AFC did not provide a justification for this.

The United Arab Emirates will host Group E, while Oman, India and the Kyrgyz Republic will challenge them for the only automatic starting place for the finals, while Jordan will host Palestine and Turkmenistan as a company Group F have.

Australia, which finished third in the AFC U23 Asian Cup 2020, was drawn in Group G against China PR, hosts Indonesia and Brunei Darussalam.

The Republic of Korea, the winners of the 2020 edition , meets ASEAN opponents in Group H in Singapore, Timor-Leste and the Philippines, while Vietnam’s 2018 runners-up with Myanmar, Hong Kong and hosts Chinese Taipei take on Group I.

Mongolia welcomes ASEAN teams Thailand , Malaysia and Laos in Group J, while Korea DPR, the champions of 2016 Japan and Cambodia in Group K. The hosts will be named in due course.