The race for the winner of the FIFA Puskás Award 2021 has begun. Who will succeed the 2020 recipient, Son Heung-min, in attaining the coveted crown? The 11-person shortlist for the best goal during the award period has been announced and the candidates are as follows:

Sandra Owusu-Ansah (GHA): Kumasi Sports Academy Ladies FC vs. Supreme Ladies FC [Ghana Women’s Premier League] (May 8, 2021)

Daniela Sánchez (MEX): Querétaro FC vs. Atlético de San Luis [Liga MX Femenil] (January 16, 2021)

Caroline Weir (SCO): Manchester City WFC vs. Manchester United WFC [FA Women’s Super League] (February 12, 2021)

The winner will be selected by an international jury made up of FIFA legends and registered fans from around the world on Each of the two groups of voters within the jury has the same voting weight.

The voting and award process in connection with the FIFA Puskás Prize is described in the relevant award rules.

To stay up to date on The Best, visit and the FIFA accounts on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Use the hashtag #TheBest to join the discussion about who should win the awards.