L’Echo Touristique – Find tourism news for professionals in the tourism sector with Echo Touristique: travel agencies, GDS, specialist service providers, tour operators

These countries notably include Japan. Conversely, tourists from Uruguay, even unvaccinated against Covid-19, can now be admitted to the EU.

Ambassadors of the Twenty-Seven on Wednesday approved the return of restrictions on travelers from six countries. Japan, Serbia, Azerbaijan, Albania, Armenia and Brunei are also removed from the list of countries whose travelers are allowed to enter the EU for non-essential travel, according to the recommendation. This list still needs to be formally approved by the Council, an institution representing the Member States. And these restrictions do not apply to fully vaccinated travelers.

Another development: conversely, travelers from Uruguay, even not vaccinated against Covid-19, can now be admitted to the EU.

The EU, which closed its external borders to tourists on the arrival of the pandemic, has established since June 2020 a regularly updated shortlist of third countries whose residents are allowed to travel to Europe. The list as endorsed by the ambassadors of member states includes 12 countries – to which is added China subject to reciprocity – as well as the special administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macao, and the territory of Taiwan.

To establish their list, the Europeans are based on the epidemiological situation of the area concerned, which must have recorded less than 75 cases of Covid per 100,000 inhabitants over the last 14 days, as well as the presence of variants, the detection rate, the reliability of data and progress of vaccination. However, this is a recommendation, not legally binding, with member states remaining sovereign over their borders.

At the end of August, the EU already recommended the return of restrictions on non-essential travel to its territory from five countries including the United States.

Covid: Rwanda and Thailand drop EU “green list”, Ukraine y …

Related title :
EU list: six new countries targeted by return of travel restrictions
Coronavirus: travelers from these six countries are no longer allowed to enter the Union
Coronavirus – Six countries, including Japan, targeted by EU & with return of travel restrictions

Ref: https://www.lechotouristique.com